Seriously? No but really?

The fingerprint saga continues.

I finally found someone to go to the police station with me, so yesterday I called for an appointment. Getting them to agree to do the fingerprints was much easier than I expected. But then this happened:

“Oh, by the way, do you need this form signed?”

“Well yes, the person should sign his name and the date.”

“Yeah, we can’t do that.”

“I don’t understand.”

“We can take your fingerprints, but we can’t sign the form.”

“… why?”

“We just can’t. You need to get a witness from a verification company to do it.”

So then I went inside and found the office lady, who understands my shoddy Japanese, to talk to them and figure out what a “verification company” is. Turns out it’s a witness company or something, and you have to pay them to come with you and witness… stuff. So we called them, and they’ll do it, but not on US fingerprint cards.

So that’s helpful.

Not sure what’s going to happen, but I emailed my recruiter to say they’ll be delayed again.

Is this the universe punishing me for trying to move to another country where I don’t speak the language? Or maybe the universe is being nice and is trying to develop my patience in advance. Either way, universe, I’m peeved. All I want is someone to put ink on my fingers and stick my fingers on a piece of paper and then write his/her name. Is that so hard?

Leave a Reply

