10 year plan?


I think this may be the first time since 12th grade that I didn’t have a 10 year plan and multiple back-up options. Here’s what I have to say to that:

Bring it.

I always know my next steps, and I always know what I’ll do in the event of A/B/C occurrence. But now that I’ve applied to Peace Corps… sure, I have ideas, I know where my interests lie, and am considering a couple of career options, weighing the pros and cons of each. But I have no plan B if Peace Corps rejects me, which, if they do, will probably be because they think I’m not really grasping the reality of having to become an omnivore during service (which I most definitely AM grasping, and have accepted as a necessary likelihood but can’t seem to convey very well). I can’t remember not having a plan B. Normally I’d have one thought through in 20 minutes, but now… well, my mom asked me that this morning. 14 hours ago. And I STILL don’t have one. And I don’t want to make one.

That is a huge deal for me, and it feels freaking awesome. Pat myself on the back, methinks.

Question for the (zero) of you who are reading this: are you an obsessive planner like I am? Have you ever intentionally not had a plan?

4 Responses

  1. now I’m creeping you back, I love PC journals πŸ™‚

    yeah, I have no plan B either. It kinda freaks me out a little bit, but I’m also concerned that if I do make a plan B, or C, etc, that PC will fall through and I would be heartbroken. PC has been my only plan for so long that I don’t even have a concept of what I would do otherwise.

  2. It’s kind of a nice feeling, huh? Whatever happens, happens.

  3. I have, in the past had Plans B-G in my mind, but that just got silly and was worse than having no plan. As of right now PC is my plan, and I guess Plan B would be to look at my finances and randomly pick a city to move to and try to get into the school system. But since that isn’t very specific, I’m not sure it counts?

Leave a Reply

