Continental confusion

I was talking with my aunt a couple days ago, and she asked me questions nobody had asked yet. I mean, yeah, people have asked why I want to join PC, but they’ve accepted my basic answer – I want to try to make a difference in someone’s life, even though I know I’ll probably benefit from it more than they will, and I want to experience things few others get to.

That’s totally true. But I guess there’s just so much more I hadn’t really put into cohesive thoughts even, let alone words.

I’m also a little nervous because she said I don’t sound very excited to go to Central or South America. I am excited, but as I told her, I’m trying not to get too attached to it, since it might change. But where I really, truly want to go is Africa. And she could tell. I want to go there so bad. But I can’t fully verbalize why. I know I’d have an amazing time anywhere, but I can’t shake the feeling still.

Oh, well. She said since I want to go to Africa so bad, I’ll end up there at some point. I bet she’s right. 🙂 Even if it’s not with PC, I’ll get there at some point.

4 Responses

  1. I’m going to Africa, so you can come couch surf at my place if you take a vacation at some point 🙂 And by couch I probably mean floor. I’m sorry your medical is adding up so quickly, and that SUCKS that the dentist was so expensive… was your title in response to Strix’s Rage Hippo at all? Because that’s what it reminded me of!

    • I will most definitely take you up on the floor-surfing if I can. 🙂 As for the costs, I’m clearly not happy about it, but that’s what happens when you’re uninsured in the US. My Japanese insurance probably wouldn’t cover most of it anyway. Oh, well.

      The title was in reference to the Vlog Brothers (two brothers who have created an online/real-life community called Nerdfighters). 😀 But good guess.

      I’m so excited your invitation is coming!! I’ll be checking on here lots to see!

  2. Hey Claire! Fabulous to meet you. I’m from San Diego too, and I actually got invited just yesterday to serve in Central/South America. One of my very, very good friends teaches English in Japan. It’s weird, I feel like I already know you!

    As you already found out, the VA there is absolutely unhelpful. I wrote a couple of blog posts about it myself. If you have any questions about that kind of stuff, I’ve already been trhough all of it, and I’ll try to help if I can.

    Best,
    Strix

    P.S.
    I totally got the Nerdfighters reference. I approve.

    • Nice! I knew awesome people came from San Diego. Congratulations again on your invitation. That’s so awesome!

      I’ll go back and take a look at some of your older posts and find the VA stuff. I found a clinic here that did most of the stuff (just a couple things my doctor in Japan has to do now). The worst was the dentist – not being insured and needing x-rays and fillings is a KILLER.

      I’ll definitely let you know if I have questions, thanks!

      Claire

      P.S.
      You’re my new hero.

Leave a Reply

